Debre Maryam / Betre Mariam Monastery

Monday, December 29, 2014
Bahir Dar, Amhara, Ethiopia
We only had time to see two of the more than 20 monastic churches on the islands and peninsulas of Lake Tana. Many of which were founded during the 14th-century rule of Amda Tsion (1315-1345). They were established in the medieval period by the monks locally referred as "The Seven Stars".

It was an hour on the "slow" boat across to the forested Zege / Zeghe Penisular which is studded with medieval churches.

First up was the circular Debre Maryam / Betre Mariam monastery. Founded by Abuna Tadiwos in the 14th century. Inside the conical thatched roof monastery were richly illuminated manuscripts of the four gospels.

Other Entries